Pigeons

Cyber

Thanks for the help Paul, like i said i'm new to this. ive shot pigeons before but never eaten one or anything like that so would like to know. Is it that the ferals look scraggy and dirty?? again Paul, thanks for the useless reply. :/

cyber,have you now progressed from target shooting to live game ? if so do not go out untill you know the difference.buy a bird book,google it or whatever you need to do but please dont raise your rifle to anything that breathes til you know the difference.respect for your quarry is 90% of shooting.not a pop just advice

Thanks for the help Paul, like i said i'm new to this. ive shot pigeons before but never eaten one or anything like that so would like to know. Is it that the ferals look scraggy and dirty?? again Paul, thanks for the useless reply. :/

I would never eat a feral, god knows what they have been eating.

Woodies are easy to identify:

Woodpigeon%20150604.jpg

woodpigeon7007.JPG

risleymoss-woodpigeon.jpg

Ferals look like Heinz 57, all sorts of colurs and markings.

Jerry

thankyou very much sandersj89, that has helped alot.

Diggers, I have been shooting for years, targets, game and vermin. Firstly i never make a shot if i can't guarantee an instant and painless death. I have shot loads of ferals (now i know!!) but i haven't really gone for woodies by decoying and the like.

Thanks again :/

EDIT: thanks to Dazzyboi aswell!

Don't eat a feral :/

Feral pigeons carry diseases that are harmful to humans. The most common disease passed from birds to man is Psittacosis but over 40 more diseases can be passed from the feral pigeon to humans. Fecal damage causes extreme damage to buildings and monuments.

http://nematode.unl.edu/pigeon.htm

I have shot loads of ferals (now i know!!)