Trail feeding - Can this be every other day ? - Pros & cons

I am connected with a Syndicate Shoot putting down 1500 Pheasants.     At present there are only hoppers and the birds do stray off the Shoot ground more than they should.    The idea of a Quill trail feeded in the back of the ATV seems a possible part solution combined with additional mixed cover crops.      The person doing the trail feeding need to be paid, so I am asking advice on wether feeding every other day would be acceptable combined with the existing feed hoppers and drinkers there are at present.     I know of 1 large commercial shoot with 3 beats that does trail feed  'every other day'  but I have no personal experience.     Any advice of any kind would be a great help to working towards improving the Shoot. 

If they are not interested in the feed in the Hoppers not sure why feeding a different way would improve things but I might be wrong. The two shoots I know that fed like this did it daily and did not use Hoppers but both were keepered full time.  We have the same issue (we use feeders) in that with the warm winters we have been having the birds wander and our returns have been well down.  Other local shoots have found the same.  Additional cover crops would be a great idea but they can get expensive.

Edited by Weihrauch17

6 minutes ago, Weihrauch17 said:

If they are not interested in the feed in the Hoppers not sure why feeding a different way would improve things but I might be wrong. The two shoots I know that fed like this did it daily and did not use Hoppers but both were keepered full time.  We have the same issue (we use feeders) in that with the warm winters we have been having the birds wander and our returns have been well down.  Other local shoots have found the same.  Additional cover crops would be a great idea but they can get expensive.

Thankyou.