pigeon magnet

RYAN 2

I have no variable speed facility on my rotary device, its as fast, or slow, as when it left the factory.

With my hand on my heart, I can say that I haven't noticed speed, to be a factor in its effectiveness.

In my opinion, forget it, its just something else to have to have to worry about. :lol:

This is my first time on this forum, having just surfed in, plus the fact some sixty years have pasted since I first tied my newly acquired double barreled 12 bore on the side of my old bike and headed for Black Hearn wood near Docking north Norfolk on a pigeon shooting trip, But that's a whole story on its own, My question is, What on earth is a "Pigeon Magnet"???other than its some form of decoy. I can visualise some massive electrical device out of Star Trek, which has developed a technique for trapping the pigeon whenever the bird come within its range, however please excuse my attempt at humour and bare in mind I have been in Canada this last 49 years, and completely out of contact with pigeon shooting.

Best regards,

Feather.

My question is, What on earth is a "Pigeon Magnet":lol:

Feather firstly welcome to the forum, that's another one from Canada then. :(

The Magnet is actually a spindle with 2 arms on it and a dead bird on the ends of them set out as if they are flying. The spindle is often powered by a car windscreen wiper motor connected to a battery and revolves to give the impression of 2 pigeons flying round in a circle.

The correct name is a "rotary device" or "rotor" and "Magnet" is a trade name of one of the first popular models. It's a bit like everyone calling a vacuum cleaner a "Hoover".

Hope this helps explain it. ;)

Its worth noting that the "Magnet" should not be viewed as required all the time when decoying pigeon. For my part i only use a magnet on certain crops (i.e. laid crops etc).