Good Summer or not

eggy

Well the end of the summer and the same questions on pigeon shooting are being asked.

I have been shooting pigeons since 1963 and as stated on this site many times, have lost count of the 100+ days. Perhaps this little story will answer some of the questions.

As I spend a lot of time out of the UK I return to the home in May for my summer of shooting, a big disappointment this year as I only shot 536 rabbits against my 1600 normal summer bunny bashing.

As for the pigeon shooting up to August this year I had not picked a shotgun up for 2 years , managing to shoot 135 pigeons last year one afternoon with the CZ .22

So this year I had 3 days on the decoys. (damaged cartilage restricted walking)

Kit. Carried

no magnet in my kit ever.

8 decoys .

Cartridges clay shot 7.5’s ( never use anything else )

Gun O/U ½ choke both barrels

And of course 47 years of Experience

Done my reconnaissance, did not start till midday .The pigeons had been on the field a week but due to problems was not allowed out but decided I had to go.( bit of wife nagging you know what I mean)

First day 165 picked up

2nd day 119 picked up (finished 5pm leg to bad pigeons still coming in )

3rd day 216 picked up (finished 5 pm again no shells left .8 wasted cartridges)

Altogether I wasted 32 cartridges most of the pigeons were around 30 yard out, the worst part of this story is I ran out of shells on the last day as, I did not want to walk back upstairs to get a case of 250 when I loaded the car, what a mistake, that comes with age.

On two occasions this summer I watched two lots of shooters shooting at pigeons 70 yd out. They had great sport but did not get the kills .Ask your famer friend what does he want you to do. Have a good day for yourselves or kill his pigeons.

PS I am listed as a newbie on this site I wonder why ( age 64)

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic