First Dog - Cocker - tips?

adam f

OK so the wife has come round to the idea and given the green light for a dog. We have decided on a Cocker, most probably a bitch, and she likes the liver / chocolate ones.

We have had dogs in the family before so not a total newbie but this will be the first I have owned one in my house.

So I face the minefield of trying to find one... where to look? What to look for? Breeding lines? etc, etc?

Any tips and advice greatfully recieved!

Adam

Hi Adam,

I'm way from being an expert having just done what you propose to do I can let you know my thoughts and experiences though.

My own little cocker Merla (black bitch) was chosen from a known and KC registered breeder, We did quite a lot of research on the parental line (Measydderwen, Wernffrwd, Fenlord and Timsgarry to name a few) although it must be borne in mind that good lines don't guarantee a good dog but it will most likely limit the chances of getting a duffer so worth the extra money.

If you're planning on using your dog to work I would advise having it docked (registered) and dew-clawed as both will lessen the risk of injury in the future. Make sure your chosen breeder has a genuine interest in you, your background and dogs future, rather than being a puppy farmer purely motivated by cash. Also ensure that you are provided with correct registration documents and that the dam and sire have both passed the necessary health checks (can't remember the two but I'll look later).

I have to say our 9 week old cocker is bright as a button, within a week she would come to five short blasts on a whistle (I blow it at feed times) and will 'go to bed', 'hup' to hand, voice and whistle and has her nose and paws into everything.

A word of warning, be prepared to fall head over heels for the little tike!

Adam

What do you want to do with the cocker? Trial ? beating ? Shooting dog?

Knowing that will help you approach the right lines.