Decoy Questions

12Greygrouse

Hello,

The last time I decoyed I've had a handful of pigeons commit to the decoys and pull away at the last minute, it was almost as though they realised what the decoys were. I never shoot the same spot within 2 weeks and try to vary the area of the field I shoot. I'm also pretty sure the movement of me mounting the gun didn't scare them off as they had circled passed me and were about to settle near the furthest decoys. I'm very new to decoying so is this just something some pigeons do when decoyed do or am I doing something wrong?

Many thanks

some do flare off when coming to the decoys, but not all will

they are flaring off at the 'last minute'..are you waiting for them to land???

if they are commited and coming in you should get a shot before they flare off

and you will be surprised how quickly they react to someone mounting a gun and standing up from the hide

Are you sure there is nothing in the pattern spooking them? You need to be well hidden up, a decent hide, and when they are withing killing distance (all depends on your shooting) then get your feet right before standing up, get your gun how you want it, up, swing through, bang, but keep swinging. If you can go out with someone who has more experience and see if you can learn a tip or 10. :good:

Are you sure there is nothing in the pattern spooking them? You need to be well hidden up, a decent hide, and when they are withing killing distance (all depends on your shooting) then get your feet right before standing up, get your gun how you want it, up, swing through, bang, but keep swinging. If you can go out with someone who has more experience and see if you can learn a tip or 10. :good:

:good: