season of "firsts"

take em

what a great season of "firsts" our gang has had.

i've had my first pintail,

my brother his first pintail and golden plover.

John his first gadwall and snipe.

Christian his first shoveler,tufted,gadwall,golden plover and solway pink.

Ryan his first pintail,tufted and pinkfoot.

Lee(his first season wildfowling) gadwall,mallard,shoveler,widgeon,pinkfoot,greylag and canada.

has anyone else shot any "firsts" this season?

although ive shot airguns for twenty odd years im new to shotguns only having my license just over a year so i have seen quite a few firsts for me this year due to a shotgun opening up a whole new list of critters i can shoot.

i had a neighbour who previously id only ever said hello to as i walked past his house see me coming home from clay shooting last summer and we got talking as hes a hunter himself, since then we have become good friends and he talked me it no joining his wildfowling club... best thing i ever did... im scraed stiff of water so wildfowling is probably not the best sport for me but im fighting my way through the scared pooless feeling of wading through marsh water and tripping over hidden logs because i cant swim

ive not had loads in my first season fowling mainly due to myu changing my gun after my first trip and im struggling to get used to it but it has seen me have a greylag as my first bird on the marsh which in his 9 years fowling my mate has never done, he did swear at me a bit over that one. ive had canadas, teal and wigeon and on a trip to a local farm a couple of weeks ago had a mallard

not wildfowl but i had to mention it as it was a first for me. i had my first hare last weekend, i roasted it nice and slow and fair play it was nice and tender but was to strong a flavour for me... their not something i would ever have planned to shoot on a regular basis but now having tasted one theres no chance

i cant belueve the seasons almost over... roll on the next one!

Edited by kiffy