Building stalking experience

fieldwanderer

I'm looking to upgrade to a larger calibre rifle sometime over the next year or so because I'd like to get into stalking - I have Roe on my permissions and permission to shoot them.

When I put in for my current c/f for fox, the f.l.o agreed everything (.22/250 + aolq & open ticket) and while I was waiting for it to come through, the farmer asked me to thin the deer out :oops: when I asked to up the variation to .243, the firearms people started dragging their heels - so I left it alone, stupidly.

There was talk of Dsc1 and land inspections but, frankly, I think it was more about avoiding paperwork :/

So, the plan is to do my Dsc1 in the next few months and a couple of paid stalks over the year in the hope that it'll make everything run nice and smooth. I know there's no written rules that force me to do such things but, in my case, I think it'd probably make sense whilst also playing their game.

However, I have to admit I'm very new to the stalking scene and wondered if any of you could help in any way? Does the above sound like a good plan or can you think of a better way? Can you suggest any ways of building experience whilst keeping costs down a bit?