pigeon behaviour

bigman

Being a complete noob to pigeon shooting iv still loads to learn but trying to pick up as much info as i can , this may sound stupid but when decoying pigeons do they normally come in to land ?

only reason i ask is when im out doing it i find ill get a lot of birds crossing from side to side but not coming in to land , most of the time there moving at quite a pace , iv had a few come right in over the top and come in to land there nice confidance boasters as i can normally drop them no problems ,

seem to be having little bit more sucess since added a loan rook to the small 6 bird pattern :blush:

Hey mate if everything is going right and there having it they will land between the decoys, funny time of year at the minute for pigeons and the few times I have been out they have been twitchy.

I like to shoot em when there just putting the brakes onto land instead of being on the floor but if they come in range there having it.

Karpman

This time of the year, pigeons are busy and not just with feeding.

A lot of those birds passing by could be going to feed young, looking for water, got a better place to feed and at least 99 other reasons.

Its normally when birds appear to be coming in and then spook at the last minute, that means something is wrong with the pattern, the hide, or you.

I am doing well with a 12 shell decoy pattern on peas at the moment.

No spectacular bags, but averaging a shot bird every 5-10 minutes ain't too bad. :)

Ninety times out of a hundred if they are not actually feeding on the crop you are decoying then they will jsut buzz the decoys without stopping..they are not stupid and very wary birds.

try decoying where the bird have been dropping in to feed. They will often set down on the same spot days at a time. :yes: