.270 Rifle

T-Bolt94

Hi folks, had a quick search and didn't see any previous threads about the .270 calibre. I was just wondering what peoples opinions on such a calibre for Deer/Fox would be. I know its a bit OTT for fox but primarily deer would be its usage. I know it is known to be a noisy round but this can be lessened by a moderator.

Any help/advice on this would be greatly appreciated

Regards

unless it has changed recently, the forum search function doesn't work with only 3 characters.

I'm sure you will get plenty of good advice on this post, but in the meantime if you want to read up... try putting

site:forums.pigeonwatch.co.uk 270

into google :good:

I will probably use it for the odd fox, and then its main use will be deer...it seems to be reasonably cheap to feed in comparison to .308s and the likes as I haven't a clue about reloading and would be something I wouldn't have time for at the minute as I am a student.

Edited by T-Bolt94

Umm first things first you will need land which is approved for 270 unless you have an open ticket. You wont get in it approved for vermin control although you may get it for foxes whilst out in the deer. It costs more to feed a 270 then a 308 and for large animal humain dispatch not recommended at all.

If you have ever tried to shoot an animal.at close range with a rifle you would find thats its very difficult to aim and also manoeuvre then ofcourse you need to think about the bullet where will it go and believe me a.270 head is some bit of kit I wouldn't ever dream of using it at close range indeed I have a 38 S&W for that purpose as I do a considerable amount of deer stalking