Help needed with a problem reloading my .204 rounds

Hi folks,

Just to put you in the picture. I'm a newbie when it comes to reloading, but did loads of research before i started.

As i don't need to make hundreds of rounds at a time i bought the Lee Challenger 50th Aniversary kit. Which overall i'm very happy with. Well, almost!.......

Now comes the BUT. I can't get the scales to work properly. I zero them with the little powder pan attached. And after abit of fine adjustment on the wheel they zero perfectly!

I then set them to the amount i want, 28 grains in my case. I then set up the powder hopper and dropped a load into the pan. I then put them back on the scale and they're miles out!

I've been over the instructions on the scale and i'm sure i've set it up right. Then i did the same with the powder hopper. Just to add that i put a full hopper of powder through the powder measure before i set it up to the amount i needed. I even dropped 5 loads before using the pan to make sure it was consistantly dropping 1.87cc.

I thought maybe my powder dropper wasn't right so i weighed 5 dropped loads with my cheapo digital scale. And although not 100% accurate it was very near the amount i needed.

I'd appreciate any constructive help or advice you folks could give me....

Thanks

Jamie

powder throwers are just not that accurate. It usual to throw an undercharge then top it up with the trickler. Beam scales are effected by level changes and also interfearance from things like strip lights. Digital scales are a nightmare for interfearance but good for speed and less tight tollenances.

As a side note check balance scales are 100% clean in the pivot points etc

Ok.

I just zero'd them again. I did the following. I put the base of the scale on a flat level marble base.