Sucsessfull first shotshell reloads.

Hi guys, im new to reloading and ive just made my first batch and successfully shot them at some clays.

Ive been lurking in the background of PW reading and learning as much as i can and asking the odd question here and their.

I just want to say thanks to all you clever people for all your help.

I basically started with a lee load all 2 and this recipe.

https://www.ballisticproducts.com/bpi/load_recipes/loads_pdf/031203clayspackage105.pdf

Its the last recipe using red dot powder as i got hold of some quite cheaply some cheaply.

I made 3 slightly diferent varients.

As i had some new pre primed game bore hulls i used some of these but they had CX2000 primers in them.

I made some using the CCI 209 primers in new hulls as per the recipe and some in once shot Hulls.

I had the usual problems of odd crimps and crimps falling into the shell due to column height. So i fitted some felt wads under the shot in the cups and this solved the problem.

CF0AF816-FC14-469A-BEE3-6D76253DE743.jpg

4F32DB5E-4EB7-4A72-B03D-10BB35EA712E.jpg

22AF9F19-073E-4F21-9B74-8E485762E074.jpg

AF1987D1-A15E-458B-ACA3-6734DCFCCD0D.jpg

Hopefully you can see these pics and they have uploaded ok.

Thanks for all the info.

Also any comments are also welcome.

Cheers

Nick

Good start :good:

The crimps look a little sunken in the middle and may benefit from a card under the shot to fill the case out. This may also close up the hole in the middle as would a little more pre crimp if that's possible on a Lee Loadall. I believe some folk also use a euro cent on the crimp to press it down a little more to create a better rim.

MEC loaders do a fab job, Mine is the older all metal dies so does an awesome job, The Ponsness Warren of Mr Rule's does a beautiful crimp! They just go POP insteasd of BANG :lol:

Mikes Machine turns out a fab shell, I seem to remember Mike saying Johns turns out an even better one, if thats even possible? But My MEC does a fab job too.