Killed my fist fox I must admit to mixed feelings

kennym

Hi I'm a pigeon & rabbit shooter & I always eat what I kill,

If I'm honest I do this to justify the killing to my self....... the truth is I love the hunt I always have I can be as cold & calculated as is necessary but when its over a touch of remorse creeps in, its just the way I am..... and ..... well I kind of like it that way.

Recently I have been shooting the farm of one of my shooting partners oldest friends, we recently had a conversation about foxes he hates them and said he was glad he has no fox problem especially because of the Christmas geese he's doing as a little side line, Told him I thought he had foxes down by the river bank but he was convinced it was badger.

anyway to cut the story shot (OK shorter) I did see a badger set (clean always freshly dug) but was quite surprised to see loads of foxes holes (smelly with carcases & **** all over) very close to the badgers, (I'm no expert but I thought the two would stay apart) anyway over the weeks we'd noticed its been growing at an alarming rate .....

SO when we were done pigeon shooting we slipped in the heavy number 3s & went for a look see ......now I've never hunted fox so the plan was I would hid in the river bank in site of a well trodden animal trail & my mate would get 400 yards up wind of me on the other side of the river bank and start making his way back to wards me, we figured all the fox kills had been made on the bank side which were full of rabbit holes & roosting birds so there was a good chance he would be hunting there, its only a small beck but with deep banks, my mate (willc) stayed high on the bank and I would only shoot down we both knew were each other was so there was no chance of an accident,