air gun

mossy835

Mossy, if you have a .22rim keep hold of it. I have a .22rim/.222/.270, three shotguns and an air-rifle. I started shooting with the air-rifle in 1982, and have always had one in my armoury, but i wouldn't give up my .22rim B) Just add a good air-rifle to your armoury, because there are times when it will do the job when the .22rim is a bit much

Edited by kip270

depends who is shooting it. I have a verified(two witnesses) 60yard rabbit, head shot with a venom tuned HW80 .22. 11.5ftlb checked through my chronograph using RWS Superdome B)

Hi,

You only need 3.5lb sq/ft of powewr to kill a rabbit if you hit in the killzone but most guns outshoot the shooter so it's the marksman not the power that counts. B)

FM :(

as u all sed its power, shooter , and pellets and all that iv got a bsa hornet and have shot a rabbit at 70 pases blo*y lucky i think lol got 1 witness but most air rilfes will kill a rabbit ,

p.s i recomend the hornet lol never had any probs with it,

regards edd

Mossy

12ft lb...........40yds mate B) anything further is down to conditions and an element of luck .The quarry deserve better .

Talking to a air gunner instructor at SHUGBOROUGH GAME FARE who told me (HIS MATE) kills rabbits at 80yds with a .177 on a regular basis .In fact i was'nt convinced.

Well for a start he ain't walking around and he ain't doing it at night and he DEFFINATELY aint 't doing it when there is a slight breeze about.He must have been simulating range conditions in the field.

So for consistancy 35-40 yds at the most in 12 ft lbs ..60yds in 35 ftlbs even though they'll kill humanely at 80m(90yds)

Ive

ok if your talking about 12F/lb legal limit air gun i would say 40 yards would be about the max maybe 45 on a good day.

but if your talkinf FAC air rifle i think you could almost double that out to about 75-85 yards.