Nightforce Scopes.....Amazing !!!

robbobsam

I was out hunting last night with my Tikka Super Varmint and Nightforce NXS 5.5-22 X 56, I am new to centerfire and after seeing the guy on You-Tube with his incredibly long range hunting shots (1800yds) I decided against the Swaro or Zeis scope and went for the nightfoce instead. Am I glad I did.

I made a drop chart guide in 10m increments and purchased a Nikon 1200 rangefinder to help me range targets accurately and I was away.

The first thing I did was zero the rifle and with Norma 75grain Vmax tipped shells I managed to get 100yd 1" groups. I zero'd my turrets and found a quiet spot in a hedgerow and waited for the foxes and bunnies to show.

The first customer was a bunny at 220yds, I checked my chart, dialled the nightforce and aimed dead center. DEAD BUNNY.

The second customer was a bunny at 50yds. I checked my charts, dialled the nightfoce and aimed dead center. DEAD BUNNY.

This continued all evening with bunnies and crows showing at ranges between 50-450yds and each time the nightforce dialled in every time perfectly.

Just as dusk was upon me charlie showed at 375yds in the opposite hedgerow, I carried out the same scope adjustments with the charts and took the shot. I took charlie with a perfect chest shot, inch perfect as per my aim.

In total I took over 20 bunnies and 1 fox with no misses.

I returned home and cleaned the gun and the following day I returned to the target to check the zero. I reset the nightforce to the previous days settings and tried the gun for accuracy to see if it returned to the previous days accuracy even though I had been dialling the scope up and down the following evening and to my amazment the scope put 3 bullets in a perfect clover leaf on the 15mm bull at 100yds.

Nightforce may not be as clear or bright as zeis or swaro, but I wouldnt swap my nightfoce for any other scope on the market.

Edit/Delete Message