Labrador for beating

Daveo26

Does anyone use labs for beating or any other purpose other than as a peg dog?

I used mine for finding and flushing pheasant on a shoot the other week and got some funny looks off the guns with fat lazy peg dogs.......

Iv seen videos on you tube of Labs pointing although why you would use a lab over a pointer is anyones guess :hmm:

Cheers Dave

Dogs have to be under control in the beating line, your invites to help will be greatly reduced if you have an uncontrolled headbanger wrecking the drives & running through the flushing points. You see all sorts in the line & on the peg don't knock them if they can do a job.

My dogs 2 years old and this is obviously his first season.

Any tips on using him for beating? Is there anything I should be aware/careful of?

He is fairly well trained, He works to the whistle and hand signals.

Im new to gun dogs but have owned many lurchers and terriers :oops:

Two entirely different breeds....

Spaniels are for hunting, head bangers the lot of them, but excellent to have and watch

Labs for picking up

My lab sits down and goes to sleep while wildfowling, taken the springer OMG it wont sit still :yes::lol:

I take your point, But I honestly don't think I could cope with a Spaniel that's why I have a Lab :lol:

A nice steady, methodical worker Vs a maniac headbanger :hmm::D

there is nothing wrong with a lab for beating, I take a GWP and really get some funny looks but she is rather good at it so its more interested looks and what is she.