Wildfowling

JustJon

An honest request this one... I haven't got a clue.

I started shooting around 9 months ago. I've managed to try driven pheasants, clays, decoying for crows and decoying for pigeons. Having just moved to Lincolnshire I'm now wondering whether I should have a look at Wildfowling - I don't think it would be my main hobby, which is currently clays, but who knows!?!

However, I don't know the quarry I'd be likely to see, the rules, the seasons, the needed equipment and "how it's done" - i.e. clubs, permission etc?

So - I was wondering whether those keen 'fowlers would be willing to help out with a little info and explain the shooting they all seem to be so passionate about?

I did try a search "starting wildfowling" but can't seem to find many answers.

Thanks for any time you take in replying!

First thing to say is you don't go wildfowling to go shooting. If you really like pulling the trigger then its not for you. But if you like the thought of persuing a wild quarry in a wild environment then you may take to it, well, like a duck to water. I regard my trips as armed bird watching, and every trip is an armed reconnaisance.

You have to like mud too!, id love to go wildfowling too purely just to see the wildfowl flying in bleak but beautiful surroundings.

Theres plenty of guys on here who should point you in the right direction,i think BASC can arrange wildfowling days with little cost if you are a member, i think they have a little booklet that shows you where you can go. Have a look on their website.

This is the club that I am in http://www.slwc.co.uk/

Check this out as well http://www.basc.org.uk/en/departments/wildfowling/wildfowling-permit-scheme-.cfm

Go on give it a go if you dont mind getting muddy but if you like regular birds coming thick and fast dont bother as its not like that, it takes some work,this is my second season and I am still learning and classed as a beginner. :good:

Edited by harrycatcat1