Some silverware at last!

Frenchieboy

This may sound very much like I am blowing my own trumpet but I am over the moon!

One of my hobbies/sports throughout the summer (April to September) is Crown Green Bowling, something that the wife and I have been doing for the last 5 years. We bowl for two teams, one playing on Tuesday evenings and the other playing on Wednesday afternoons. Niether of these teams are very high in the league but we enjoy thouroughly enjoy the sport and most importantly the social side of it. We also play a "Round Robin" match every Saturday afternoon.

Over the last few years I have never really been rated as a bowler with an over abundance of skills but this year I decided to try to steady my game up and improve on the standard of my bowling, and through practice and getting more focussed on the game it has paid off. The last two Staurdays I have won the round Robins outright (Only small cash prizes, but the money isn't really important) with a maximum score each time on every game that I played and to top the lot I won my first silverware yesterday. We had both teams that I play for bowling together for an annual challenge shield, last year I was knocked out in the semi finals and the year before I was beaten in the finals but yesterday I pulled out all the stops and managed to keep my cool and win the shield outright in a fairly convincing way with some really convincing wins throughout the preliminaries the quarter finals and semi finals even though the final game went right down to the wire (Against one of the team captains and a very good personal friend of mine) with the score going to 20 points each (We play up to 21 points). The trophy is away being engraved at the moment but I will put a photo up of the presentation of the engraved shield when it is properly presented in a few days time.