Guns at work

Asa Bear

I am a firefighter and at work we have a recognised shooting section. I represent the brigade shooting clays so sometimes take my gun to work. I break it down and keep it part locked in my personal locker with a combination padlock and part in my vehicle. Firefighters before me have done this for @30 years, probably even more relaxed in the past. I myself have been doing this for approximately two years.

Recently my station commander of approximately 12 months has told me he is not "comfortable" with me having a gun or part of on station and has instructed me not to do this until further notice.

There is no service policy on this and it is not being applied brigade wide. I have spoken to the shooting section chairman and my union representative who are making enquiries.

What are your views on this and what is the practice in your workplace?

• Replies 186
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have an air pistol in my desk drawer. I shoot tin cans when I am bored (and intimidate grads).

I also have a working scale model of a Trebuchet that use to fire projectiles across the floor.

We are fairly laid back about these sorts of things in India. :) I wouldn't do it in London.

I think he said that there is no rule that says he cannot do what he's done for two years.

The union will sort it or you can all down tools - one out, all out !

Just waiting now for someone to mention it could be useful for cats stuck up trees :no:

ATB

I am a firefighter and at work we have a recognised shooting section. I represent the brigade shooting clays so sometimes take my gun to work. I break it down and keep it part locked in my personal locker with a combination padlock and part in my vehicle. Firefighters before me have done this for @30 years, probably even more relaxed in the past. I myself have been doing this for approximately two years.