Bit of a rant to be honest

Acid House

I am just getting into clays after a decade or so away from driven pheasant and have a few questions/observations. I will no doubt return to live targets but have enough respect to hone my skills on clay.

I have a few veteran clay buddies (all better shots than me) and we haunt the local ground each weekend verbally abusing one another and putting the word to rights etc and all is well.

The first thing I have noticed is that everybody knows what direction the clays will come from even if first to the cage. The second is most regulars have shot each peg several times over the past weeks/months and have a rough idea what lead to give the clay etc (they often say 'now what you want to do on the next one is.....).

Now I understand that even with all this information before the trigger is pulled there are far from any guarantees that a hit is inevitable.

But what really got up my nose today (and I don’t mind one of my group advising/coaching) was a group of bloody good shots from another group walking right up behind my shooting buddies and bobbing and weaving around to see how others were hitting or missing each clay.

What is wrong with these ****. How easy do they want it. How many advantages are enough for a decent gun before taking a shot becomes arbitrary.

God help em if they found themselves in a small clearing in the middle of godknowsware waving the barrels at driven bird.

I am enjoying the clays but today just brought to mind the adage………..

Give us a bird. Give us a bird. Give us a bird. ‘Pull’…….Oh bloody missed……..

Rant over and back to my very nice malt……

Just hope I catch one of the **** doing it to me. A very firm but controlled F### OFF may bring a few smiles to the group.

The problem is giving an even playing field.