chokes

chris haynes

being new to the sport (done 3 100 bird shoots)i dont really understand this subject.i shot a barretta 686 with 1/4 in the top barrel & a cylinder in the bottom ,why,bceause the guy in the shop said it was the best configuration for a new shooter ,is this right :??blush: and if so why? pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeese help me understand this

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Its what I started off using when I started shooting. With these chokes being the most open it gives the biggest shot pattern (spread of shot). Thus giving you the best chances of hitting close clays building up your confidance and hopefully your enjoyment of the sport.

When you are more experiance or you feel comfortuble you will probally end up switch to 1/4 in the bottom barrel and 1/2 in the top barrel which brings the more distant clay into play.

Sorry to butt in but I am still learning this.

So which choke do you use for the distance clays?

1/2 or 1/4?

I take it 1/2 as that's a tighter choke so you use that for the distance clays and 1/4 for the closer targets as that's more open so wider spread.

Am I right or wrong. Prob wrong lol

Your correct the 1/2 is a tighter choke that would use for more distant birds..

if you put 1/4 in the bottom and 1/2 in the top, most people would agree that's you sorted for shooting sporting.

I presume your shooting sporting ?

Good luck !

1/2 is tighter than 1/4.

it goes from open to tight somethin like this Skeet, Cylinder,1/4,3/8,1/2,5/8,3/4,full tighter choke for the further away targets, Google choke & shot distances and you'll find a nice wee Briley chart you can print out which tells you which choke to suit certain targets and distances :good:

Still learning myself yes the 1/2 choke is the tighter choke which I use for the more distant targets.