so whats yours?

cockercas

seen as the forum is going around in circles atm.

what is your favourite quarry/discipline?, why?, what do you shoot with? and what do you get out of it?

me, foxing is by far the best. a very intelligent and cunning animal. quite often under-estimated.

i started shooting for pure pest control, i keep chickens in a wood. so keeping my chickens safe was my 'excuse'. but now im hooked, devoting most of my spare time to Vulpes vulpes.

since i got my .243 ive hardly picked another gun up, that was shown last night with the poor performance with the .22

i get loads out of fox shooting, some protection for my birds and other wildlife. some quality man time with my lamp man, away from our girl friends and other stress full issues. outside in the fresh air and i get to see some cracking wildlife when all is quiet. indirectly linked with the foxing is reloading my own ammo, knowing that every fox i shoot is down to my own doing.

I love rat shooting used to do it years ago and used to shoot on allotments and regularly shot 20+ on a good night once baited up with dog food eggs and rice. Used to shoot them with a .22 BSA ultra but wish I had permission to shoot them with the .22lr or .17hmr or even the .223 I have just got rid of. I do also love shooting foxes it's great and some of the shots/foxes can't be quite challenging.