Both eyes open or not....?

N1ck8

I have been closing my left eye for a few months since taking up shooting again. But I have been told by some people at a local clay shoot that I would be much better if I had both eyes open, well on average I get 25 to late 30's on a 50 sporting. As some of these guys are hitting 18's to early 20's and have been shooting for far longer than they have worked on there beer guts im not that interested in there comments.

I am a very competitive person and have competed at a few sports, no prizes for second in my mind. So if you are going to give someone tips you better have the skills to pay the bills.

I am interested in peoples opinion on this matter.

To me if I open both eyes it looks blurred.

Cheers

If the clay looks blurred then perhaps you should see an optician first,and then consult a GOOD coach who can sort out any eye dominance issues.Shooting with both eyes open is the desired method for sporting shooting,but not necessarily always possible for those with eye dominance problems.

Also check out your eye dominance most of us have a master eye this doesn't line up with the master hand all the time, I for example am Right handed but left eye dominant so i shoot left handed otherwise i have to close my left eye and its much harder to judge the speed of the target, for Trap i.e going away birds its less critical but for sporting/crossing/skeet having 2 eyes gives you the best chance.

You may find that with both eyes open you see 2 barrels or the side of the barrels this would indicate a master eye issue, search for "eye dominance" for loads of threads

ok cheers, so how can i tell which eye is dominant?