EYE DOMINANCE

breadster50

Hi - I'm a newbie to PW but not a newbie to shooting. Been shooting clays since 1989 [ish].

I am shooting a standard R/H Browning 325 M/C 32" but I am left-master-eyed. I have always known this fact since I started but I soon became adept at ignoring the fact that my head was slighty "bent to the right" when shooting.

Over the years I have dabbled with DTL, became proficient at Sporting [which has always been my passion] but recently [Jan-07] I have started to dabble in SKEET shooting.

My sporting scores have always been "respectable" in the late 30's or 40's/50, at local shoots and game fairs so I have never really worried that much about my eye dominance !

However, recently I have hit the SKEET scene..... registered with the CPSA and started in B-Class. I have had some decent coaching from family and friends and some guys who really "know their game" and my scores have excelled to a current average of circa 95/100. Yes there are some low 90's and yes there are some high 90's at different registered events. My variation in scores is generally blamed on "Mother Nature" but each time I leave the shoot questioning myself asking "but where are you actually aiming?:lol:?"

Long story short - when i shoot registered events/english open/british open, my confidence is waining each time i raise the gun to my shoulder.

I bought an "Easy Hit" sight made especially for people like me....... I have never used it simply because my scores were "good", however, i am now questioning whether i should really get my gun fitted professionally, but if i do that, will I have to change the way I shoot, will my scores drop, will I lose interest etc etc etc.

Appreciate any insight you have. What should I do?

NB - shot today - 95/100. Missed stupid targets! Hit everything on the hardest pegs [4]..... I was thnking about "what I was doing" rather than "kill the target!"..... :lol:

:lol: "mixed up"

Fit a uni dot sight, problem sorted.

webber