0.22 LR Ballistics Question

Morning all,

I recently contacted Eley to ask them what the official Ballistic Coefficient number is for their Eley Subsonic Hollow 38 grain ammunition.

The reply I received contained the following information: 

"I can confirm the ballistic coefficient for all our products is the following:

0.140 - G1 Drag Table

0.112 - RA4 Drag Table

I hope this information helps with your investigation."

I am relatively new to the mysterious world of bullet ballistics and am in the process of setting up the Ballistic Calculator on my new scope, based on using Eley Subsonic Hollow 38 grain ammunition.

Can someone kindly explain in layman's terms, the difference between the 'G1 Drag Table' and the 'RA4 Drag Table' and which coefficient number I should input into my Ballistic Calculator?

I remain grateful in anticipation,

John.  

44 minutes ago, Okrang said:

Any idea what the different Drag Tables refer to though?

Id try a google search if you want to explore the rabbit warren of BC s.

Calculating BCs is a very inexact science, most calculators like Strelok or Weta allow you to adjust to your barrel/velocity, as different muzzle velocity/twist ect affects the BC .

Not to mention the bullet manufacturers often rather fanciful marketing figures (Higher BC = more accurate bullet, less drag = more speed / energy)

Most serious target shooters will tell you that true  BC is something you work out yourself.

Thanks Rewulf.

I spent a fair while on Google this morning and found, not only did explanations seem to contradict each other, but also the knowledge was so riddled with other abbreviations and technical terminology beyond my ken, that I gave up! I figured I would come here for a more simple explanation.

It seems rather as though the world of ballistics is a bit akin to that of astrophysics - if you aren't already an astrophysicist, you wont understand the principles!

Cheers,

John.

22 minutes ago, Okrang said: