Room heater needed ?.

samboy

Hi gang.

I need a new heater to warm a room about 12 x 10 ft. What would be best an electric oil rad or a ceramic heater ?.

Thanks all.

With electric heating, it is all 100% efficient for practical purposes.  That is for every kilowatt of power from the mains, you get a kilowatt of heat. 

The differences are really in the way that heat is delivered, how fast it warms up, what the 'burn risk' is (for children) - and of course the cost.

I have no experience of ceramic, but oil radiators give a slow warm up and cool down and a steady safe (little burn risk) heat that is really convected heat, very similar to a central heating radiator.

In addition, some have thermostats and timers.  It is really what best suits your requirements.

You could consider a Diesel heater - would mean drilling a hole in the wall at least for the exhaust - or a bigger hole if you have the heater outside. Some interesting stuff being done on YT about these and a few are using one to heat the house as cheaper than gas or electricity to run...

Considering getting one to run in the garage and blast through into the hall for next winter..reclaim the exhaust gas heat into a radiator as well in the garage to warm that up at the same time..

15 minutes ago, discobob said:

You could consider a Diesel heater - would mean drilling a hole in the wall at least for the exhaust - or a bigger hole if you have the heater outside. Some interesting stuff being done on YT about these and a few are using one to heat the house as cheaper than gas or electricity to run...

Considering getting one to run in the garage and blast through into the hall for next winter..reclaim the exhaust gas heat into a radiator as well in the garage to warm that up at the same time..