where have all the pigeons gone ?

pigeon pete

hi all iam new to the forum,,,and must say its a good one

ive been shooting for 30 years now ,from airrifle ,shottys and FAC rifles

a friend and i have been a bit puzzled of late ,we have shot on a 2000 acre farm for 5 years now and its rape barley and pea ,wheat ,weve always see big flocks of pigeons 200/300 at a time ,we shoot all year and any weather ,the farmer always rings us to say hes seen 70 trillion,billion pigeons on his crop ,lol we average bags of 80 birds ,not the big bags of 150/200 ,but its been regular ,then for some reason they have gone over night just at the start of this year ,the flight lines have gone !!!! last Friday the farmer cut 2 of his barley fields only due to the rain ,these were the only 2 to be cut for miles ,so we planed to go back to them on Sunday ,van full of lead,all the deeks and magnet,watching vids on you-tube and reading all the post on pigeon watch ,we were well buzzed up for a good shoot ,got to the farm hoping to see the field grey like it used to be !? well lets say after 1 hour of watching for flights we didn't even get the guns out seeing just 4 pigeons flying past and they weren't even dropping into the stubble ,we were heading home ! has anyone else had this problem ,the farmer said its because we have had a mild winter and the pigeons have been eating from the ivy and other tree buds ? ???