Is my 12g over and under ok for lamping rabits??

currieboy

The lamp counteracts the darkness and you do not need a telescopic sight on a shotgun.

It would be a good idea if you could find someone to take you lamping and show you the ropes.

Its not as easy as it sounds and can be quite dangerous, if you are not careful.

:D yup,

Dont shoot anything that has glowing eyes thinking its a fox. It could be a cat, sheep, dog etc. You have to be 100% certain what you are shooting at, and 100% certain whats behind what you are shooting at.

Hi,

I use my 20 bore Berretta O/U for lamping rabbits and use a 28g cartridge of no.6 shot. I use my barrel selector so I shoot 1/2 choke first and comfortably take them at ranges out to 30m. :D Me and Dad taught ourselves to lamp and after we had got past Dad's squeaky boot problem we started to get good bags. :D

I like using the shottie as I can take them in longer grass and take them moving. :good:

FM :D

I think if I started shooting at place place in the night with a 12b, I would have a lot of angry neighbours :D

Must be loud at night, with no other background noise like in the day

Its very NOISY................did a rabit at 7am this morning....................JESUS THAT WAS A LOUD BANG....

Its really suprising how much difference the time of day makes........

I think if I started shooting at place place in the night with a 12b, I would have a lot of angry neighbours :D

Must be loud at night, with no other background noise like in the day

Its very NOISY................did a rabit at 7am this morning....................JESUS THAT WAS A LOUD BANG....

Its really suprising how much difference the time of day makes........

Thats because the USUAL background noise caused by on or more of the following Cars Planes Trains people animals etc etc has all stopped.

Background noise helps cancel out some of the sound from the shotgun in the day!