what size of stove

billytheghillie

I'd be cautious about ordering online without having a suitably qualified heating engineer review plans and specify accordingly. I've seen a good few DIY projects totally fail and end up having to be fixed/replaced at considerably more cost. Just commenting with my work hat on but would be ashame to end up with a problem. All the best

I sell stoves for a living,

Good advice already posted here about how many rads etc. a 600mm x 1000mm single rad will want about 1kw. Don't forget heat losses in the pipework and DHW requirements.

To run 6 decent double rads + DHW look for about 16kw-20kw to the water.

Then you need to look at heat requirements of the room where the stove is located, work out the VOLUME of the room in cubic meters ( roughly), divide by 12 for poor insulation, 14 for average and 16 for good insulation.

So now you have 2 figures, heat output to the room (needs adhering to fairly closely ) and a desired heat output to the water. All you need to do now is find a stove that the wife likes the look of and allows and one that has the performance you desire. You may have to compromise a bit !!.

You may not have considered that you may looking at a big stove with an overall heat output of 20-30kw, that will go through around 10 cubic meters of logs a winter, maybe more depending on how you use it. So get your fuel supply chain in place and costed up and work out where you are going to store at least 2 cubic meters of logs in the dry before you go to far along this road. Quality firewood in not cheap as timber is sold by auction prices are rising all the time. But things are somewhat easier is Scotland as there was a lot of timber planted there in the late 60s under a govt tax avoidance scheme.