Red Letter Day

Cosd

My day finally arrived, nearly five years since I started shooting, my Red Letter Day!

I'm sitting here now with now still with the biggest grin on my face, my feet still haven't touched the ground either so please bear with me if I write jiberish :yes:

Before I start I have to say a massive thanks to Terry (Bakerboy) whom I met at 9:00am at one of his permisions. this was the first time we've met even though we have chatted a number of times, but you can tell as soon as you meet him how passionate he is about the sport. We spent around half hour, forty five minutes walking the permision. He explained the land, showed me the usual flightlines and pointed out the permanent hides he's set up around the farm. Terry has invested time on his permision, and it shows.

So Terry left me as he was busy that day, saying he'd seen some birds about whilst setting up his hide for wheelchair users, not great numbers but a steady stream; And advised if I put the hours in I could make a 20-25 bag day. Off he went and I picked my spot and headed down to set my self up.

I put out 20 flocked decoys giving me a wide open ended "V" pattern, and as the wind was blowing in my face slightly from one side, my pattern was set accordingly in that direction. After a few birds came in from over my right shoulder I thinned out the right leg of the pattern and put more decoys on the left of the "V", allowing them to naturally swing in from their side of aproach and not have to correct themselves to much; Just a personal view but if they have to swing round to come in there is a chance they can change their minds.