Gun Amnesty

Ricko

The last national firearms amnesty took place between 31 March 2003 and 30 April 2003. A total of 43,908 guns and 1,039,358 rounds of ammunition were handed in.

Between 16 April and 4 June 2010, a targeted national amnesty for Olympic .380 BBM blank-firing revolvers took place to address the threat posed by the conversion and criminal use of this firearm.

Do you think that it is time for another amnesty?

Do you think that it would achieve any long term results for the safety of the general public?

Would national publicity bring people to hand in illegally held weapons?

Are the post WW2 soldiers as guilty as there forebears for holding onto 'souvenirs'?

I have some first hand experience of the post Hungerford firearms amnesty and in my option they are little more than a PR exercise which allows the police to be seen to be doing something to reduce "gun crime" but it's an illusion. The only people inclined to hand anything in are the law abiding who were never a threat anyway. I saw widows terrified into handing in priceless antiques and treasured heirlooms which the police could have allowed to have been sold to an RFD or deactivated. Instead they were crushed to cynically boost the stats and make us all "safe". I honestly saw bb guns, ancient flintlock wall hangers and even (I kid you not) kids cap guns and spud guns taken in and counted as surrendered "firearms".

Amongst these I also saw enough Purdeys, H&Hs, Artillery Lugers etc bound for the crusher to make a grown man weep. All handed in by scared mums raiding their kids toy boxes and old grannies bullied into handing over valuable bits of their deceased husbands estate which could have been sold. How many genuine armed blaggers, gang bangers or organised crime gangs handed in their guns? Take a wild guess. A cynical manipulative ploy to con the public into believing something has been done. It makes me angry just thinking about it :(

Edited by Blunderbuss