Tightening up on choke.....

Iggy

Been shooting for 2 years now but only 'seriously' for the last 12 months.

Im in C class and apart from the occasional off day (that we all have) I 'seem' to be getting into the upper 60's - lower/mid 70's fairly regularly.

Since I started shooting I've stuck religiously to 1/4 and 1/2 throughout, apart from the occasional foray into skeet/cylinder on the really close stuff - driven and rabbits etc.

Should I stick with this 'base' choke combination or is it time to go a bit tighter and if so what would you recommend?

I should probably also add that I prefer lighter loads (21g or 24g) in my O/U although I'm fine with 28g in my auto.

Thanks all,

Iggy.

What do you hope to gain by tightening up the chokes, you certainly won't break any more targets as a result..?? :no:

Stick with what you're using now, although I would recommend 28g generally for clays.

Cat.

:stupid:

Leave them be. It's pretty rare you'll need anything tighter than 1/2. :yes:

Unless you are shooting at very distant clays then 1/4 should be able to break them easily without them going all round the clay, so you're unlikely to gain anything by tightening them up.

You could check how your gun is patterning, especially with the lighter loads, at the furthest distances you shoot at to make sure your shot couldn't miss an edge-on clay.

You could try it and see how you get on - I personally like having tighter chokes, but I can't say that it is doing you any real favours. The main thing is pointing the gun in the right place, do that and whatever you are using it'll break the target - or so I'm told!

Thanks very much for the replies, looks like I should either stay put for a while or maybe try it out and see what happens.

I only ask as the guys I regularly shoot with (all better shots than me) all shoot tighter chokes and I know some folks like this as it helps them read the targets/breaks better etc.