Small Pistol Primers

Morning all

I have a box of 900 Winchester Small Pistol Primers that have been dry stored in the gun safe since I used to reload hand guns many years ago and which are now surplus to requirements as can't see me ever me using them.

Assuming these are still OK to use, which I am confident they are as they have been stored correctly over that time, where would be the best place to move them on.

Just about to start reloading .223 so looking for small rifle primers in their place

Edited by Keith RW

5 minutes ago, oowee said:

How? Not worth a go? 

I think that rifle primers are designed to withstand higher pressures than pistol primers.

'Giving it a go' in reloading terms is not to be recommended if there is any danger of exceeding pressure limits on any component.

Interesting clip below and this post in the comments. 

I have been making my own primers for 8 years now i use real btw primer compound. all the stuff is easy to get. also on a side note when i say make i mean make from scratch, i bought used surplus stamp presses and made dies. all the cup material for primers is 0.015 thick across all primers. i only make 2 primers large and small for every thing. for example large pistol mag and large pistol non mag are the same height cups both at .119". where a problem can crop up is in example large pistol is .119" height and large rifle is .125 so a over all thickness difference of .006 thou. this is where cases come into play i have some where they don't work but for the most part i don't have any issues. some cases have to have the primer pocket depth cut .006 deeper so the primer is not proud of the case. a little extra time but when there done there done. i cut them with a little end mill on a drill with a home made drill stop and a jig i built.
Show less

Edited by oowee

I used these when reloading .357 magnum rounds many years ago and at first thought they may also possibly be OK for .223,