Help a Newbie

Jay01

Afternoon all.  
I'm new to pigeon shooting, although patient and eager, 6 or so trips to the farm I have shot more squirrels than woodies and I’m starting to get teed off. I can build a great hide( picture added any advice welcome), decoy pattern and wind direction all thoughtfully placed with best looking flight line I can get close to ( to the best of my knowledge & research) and it’s not coming together. 
I met a chap on a duck shoot recently and luckily he is an old pro and gave me some tips, ie, my decoys were below par and not flocked, so I will be treating myself to new half shell flocked, I am not sure if jack pykes on a spring would be better or worse than A1’s half shelled? Also magnet choice.  A1 do what seems a reasonable lightweight magnet, and so does shoot warehouse. Can anyone offer any insight to quality/longevity from either?

thanks IMG_5954.jpeg.99d527f11e956f046e81778d52e4693c.jpeg

First off, welcome to PW.

So what are you decoying the birds on? Have you spotted the flight lines? Are there any birds feeding on the fields you look at?

If you are young and fit take dead birds for decoys, have you anything to give movement to your pattern?

If your getting “teed off” now, just wait till winters here, you will be selling your gear come next year. :)

Edited by old'un

Stubbles are usually the best to decoy over (as long as your protecting a crop .) Wheat .barley .rape . 

That looks like dried up grass in your photo ?  You need to set up where the pigeons want to feed .and that even includes the correct end of the field they want ..maybe wait till next years crop is sown in a few weeks  and decoy over the drillings  

Hello, Where in UK are you Jay ?? When I started some 50 plus years ago my Bible was a book called, Pigeon Shooting by Archie Coats, But a modern version might help with the new gear you can buy today, Do not give up as once you start reading and put into practice all your efforts will be rewarded

Thank you,