Where's Woody?

piemanpete

I've just been given permission to shoot a 35 acre winter rape field and have been out on it over the last two weekends.

I've been shooting pigeon for many years and I'm no great shot, but the sizes of the bags some of you are reporting are amazing - 50, 100 and more - I've *never* seen any field that busy, anywhere, anytime since the 1970s!

This particular field has been hammered thoroughly by Woody - only healthy patches are around the gas gun and some spinning scarers, the rest looks like it's been nuked.

First day out I had no decoys so just waited under a tree, camo'd up, on the flightline - score 2, very little traffic. Sunny and breezy.

Second day, with a friend, put out new camo pop-up hide and 12 decoys - score 2, but sky largely empty. Sunny and breezy. Gave up at 4pm.

Third day, on my own, with hide, 22 decoys + new (first ever) pigeon magnet - flurry of action - the magnet really does work - score 4, but skies emptied by lunchtime and they never came back. Sunny & breezy westerly. Packed up when magnet battery died.

Fourth day, ditto - absolutely *****r all - skies empty for miles around. More gliders and light aircraft than woodies, I kid you not. Mostly cloudy and very windy westerly. Gave up after three hours and went home. But first drove around the area to see if Woody was visiting anyone else's fields - not a sausage.

Now, this field is not shot every day, hence decimation of rape - pretty randomly as far as I can tell. It goes uphill slightly (this is Norfolk) towards a roosting wood at the top and I've seen them spud in there at lunchtime - I have a theory that Woody likes a siesta, returning to roost while he digests his morning's grub before heading out again for the afternoon - anyone agree or disagree?