Shooting ground safety

grahamt

I'm very new to shooting.

My first experience was when I attended the UKPSA basic course. After two full days of training, safety was fully instilled in me.

Then when I bought my first gun, I went along to the local clay ground to try it out and I was staggered by the lack of regard for safety. I presumed that what I had learned was normal but there were people in the car-park shouldering each others guns and muzzle sweeping everyone, nobody had safety glasses on, no flags are required in semi-autos... The list goes on.

I haven't been to any other clay grounds so I don't know if this is typical or not.

What's it like where you shoot?

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It's not bad where I go, but lots of people (including me) don't wear glasses. I know I should, I've been hit in the face with bits of clay and falling shot before, but I don't like shooting in glasses. They put warning notices up, but don't enforce it.

Pointing guns at people doesn't happen often and the worst offenders are game shooters without a doubt. If you find yourself looking down the barrel of a shotgun at Worsley, 9 times out of 10 it'll be a S/S :good: . They also routinely wander about outside of the cage with shells in the breech. I suppose if you're used to shooting in the middle of nowhere with nobody else in sight, it becomes the norm :welcomeani:

I've hardly ever seen a flag in a semi anywhere, but also don't recall having one pointed at me, in fairness to semi users :good:

I occasionally use a pump and I don't flag that either, but I bung it in a gunslip when I'm not using it.

Edited by Chard

Safety has appeared to be excellent at all the grounds I've used so far.