Ferrets

roadkill

I was going to get a couple of ferrets at the beginning of the year but all of my plans fell through .. I have now purchased a hutch and am looking for a pair of ferrets...

Questions i have are.....

1 , do i get a pair of hobs or jills??? ( i don't want to mate )

2, what do i kit the hutch out with ( hay sawdust etc. )?

3, what do i feed them ... dead bate or food in a pack?

--

cant think of any more at the mo but im sure i will be back with some more lol

cheers roadkill

Absolute novice like yourself mate but this is what I have done.

Got two jills from a PW member.

Another PW man built my court and I bought a cheap hutch from sleeping quarters (which i now regret)

Bought a large bag of Feed after the fly infestion from feeding raw meat etc.

Hopefully others will give you more advice.

LB

Roadkill

I've recentley got 2 ferrets kindly given to me By Pelt man off the forum.

I went for 2 Jills, I'm aware they will need to be mated when in season either by a castrated/ vacectomised male.

I put straw in their bed area with sawdust on the base of the hutch. They will find a corner & use this area as their toilet, if you have a prefered corner put some **** there to encourage them to use it. And put plenty of pipes & tubes for them to dart in & out of. Mine love this.

I feed mine mainly rabbit & pigeon with a little dry food occasionly, don't forget to supply them with plenty of fresh drinking water.

Good luck I'm sure you will enjoy them.

SS

went for 2 Jills, I'm aware they will need to be mated when in season either by a castrated/ vacectomised male.

How come you have to get them mated?;) just thinking if i will be better off with two hobs..

Can any one tell me the pros and cons between hobs and jills?

cheers for the help so far guys much appriciated :lol:

went for 2 Jills, I'm aware they will need to be mated when in season either by a castrated/ vacectomised male.