So what are the rules?

With regards to the 'so called friends' thread what do people think is acceptable.

We know if you take someone out as a guest and they then go and ask for permission from the same landowner behind your back that is not on but what about all the other scenarios?

An example is that I met another chap on one of my farms a couple of years back and he also has some permission on the farm next door though he rarely shoots. Because I have met him and know he has permission there does it mean I can never ask?

Where do the boundaries lie?

He hasn't took you their so go for it.

The way I see it, if someone has permission to shoot somewhere but very rarely bothers as they have 'better' land then you have no reason not to ask for permission

All farmers I know are happier with a regular shooter who keeps pests off his crop all year round rather then fair weather shooters who 'let the numbers' build to provide big bags.

Interesting one, I'm just getting into the sport and don't really have time to go more than once a month. I'm lucky enough to have a good mate with 1000 acres and he has said I can shoot it any time I want. I know he has other people shoot it but I havent been there at the same time as them yet.

Obviously I'm not going to tell my friend I'm not going to take him up on his kind offer for fear of offending a stranger but equally I don't want to pee anyone off unnecessarily. If our paths do cross I'll probably just go and introduce my self to the other shooters and explain i'm part time at best and no intention of trying to monopolise things. With a bit of luck I'll make some mates out of it.

He hasn't took you their so go for it.

The way I see it, if someone has permission to shoot somewhere but very rarely bothers as they have 'better' land then you have no reason not to ask for permission