Pigeon "bags".

Cranfield

I have been shooting pigeons (plus other things), for very many years and have been fortunate to have a few 100+ bird days.

In this months Sporting Gun, there is a picture and report of two guns who shot 720 pigeons and 20 crows, in a 7 hour session.

I am not criticising, or disbelieving this event, but I can,t imaging that amount of "action", in a days pigeon shooting.

How many shots must they have fired to achieve that number ?

The mathematics suggest;

740 birds divided by 2 guns = 370 birds.

370 birds in 7 hours = 53 birds per hour.

That is almost a bird a minute for 7 hours.

That is a feat of endurance , as well as a great days shooting. :D

Has anyone here, ever got close to, or exceeded that sort of number ?

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Read that myself Cranfield,

We have had some large bags 'over 200' this year but nothing like that it must have been some days shooting. Their barrels must have been red hot to say the least. My mate has had a 400+ day some years ago '2 guns' but they stopped shooting as they had had enough.

I wonder what they did with them!!!!

The mathematics suggest;

740 birds divided by 2 guns = 370 birds.

370 birds in 7 hours = 53 birds per hour.

That is almost a bird a minute for 7 hours.

:angry: Those figures are stunning enough as it is but even they don't give a true picture do they, as they do not allow for "time out".

During the 7 hours, how much time would have to be spent not shooting doing the things that we all know are part of a day in the hide. Here are a few that immediately come to mind.

1 Tidying up the pattern after birds have been shot.

2 Despatching runners, either with a dog or yourself.

3 Taking breaks for food and drink.

4 Watering the undergrowth after the drinks.

5 With that amount of shooting, going to the car for more cartridges.