Smoker Build

This won’t be a quick thread - it’ll take me ages to finish this project.  I’ve been wanting to build an offset smoker ever since I went on a hunting trip to Georgia in the US and got to sit next to one ‘tending the fire’ whilst getting gently sloshed on moonshine.  The idea behind them is the fire is in the side firebox and a chimney on the opposite side of the smoker draws the heat and smoke through the cooking chamber and across whatever meat you have in there.

I’m brand new to welding and have been teaching myself (via YouTube) for a few months now, and I eventually plucked up courage to make a start on assembling stuff today.  I picked up an air receiver tank from a compressor which was too long and thin to be useful in its original state, but with 1/3 cut off to make the firebox, the dimensions were spot on.  The welding won’t win any awards, but so far, it’s holding together, and I’ll take that as a win!

the first pic is a professionally made smoker to get an idea of what I’m aiming for, I suspect mine will have a face that only a father could love, but as long as it cooks, I’ll be happy.

A6752E55-BFEE-4AFB-AB00-B2E9C28AE36F.jpeg

842EDFE1-BF69-471E-9E09-5A9750D66010.jpeg

4E1660F0-38BB-41CD-B401-B3C668093F07.jpeg

FB161E9F-272E-4B83-A64B-13F7161D879D.jpeg

C40055F2-6107-4C19-91F7-A83C825ADB3F.jpeg

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Jonty, it looks like you are building a shorter version of the scud missile. Pack it with the powder from a few thousand carts, load with AAA's, then put Putins name on it and send it forth! :lol:

Seriously, it would appear you are doing a grand job and one I am following with great interest.

Keep the pics coming. 👍

1 hour ago, JKD said:

Like others have said,,,, this is going to be interesting 👍

Are you making it up as you go or working to measurements, set dimensions ?