Anyone into running

gixer1

I started running again recently and am quite enjoying with the view to doing a 10k next year and get back into a better level of fitness/lose a bit of weight.

I have been running now for a few months and do 5k every second night then every third alternating between 8 mins running at 6mph and then 2 mins at 3mph then back to 8,2 and so on until at 5km.

My problem now is I am really struggling to push past the 5k and it's annoying me, most of the people that run I have spoken to reckon getting past the 5k mark is always a pain for new runners and have said slow the pace in the running part a little so I tried this tonight and again the 5k comes around and my breathing is giving out.

Muscle wise Its not a problem but my breathing just seems short.

I stopped smoking just over two years ago from a 20 a day habit but surely my lung capacity should be up by now!

So anyone got any tips for getting past the 5k mark (without the suggestion of a vehicle :lol:)

Regards

Gixer

Don't get hung up on distance,run a different route that you haven't done before and just keep a steady pace until you decide to stop,then check your distance.

It could be that if you are running the same routes your brain is kicking in as it knows the distance,and you have a mental hurdle in the way.

I used to find that when I used to run ,if I played the same music I didn't matter where I ran it was always close to the same distance because my mind knew by the songs playing,shuffle sorted that out :good:

Don't get hung up on distance,run a different route that you haven't done before and just keep a steady pace until you decide to stop,then check your distance.

It could be that if you are running the same routes your brain is kicking in as it knows the distance,and you have a mental hurdle in the way.