£15 Pigeons

Dr Spin

I am writing my first post to express my disappointment with my first taste of pigeon shooting with a professional Company. Having only shot Wood pigeon on three occassions before so as a complete novice I decided to go with a couple of my mates to gain some valuable knowledge from the experts.

I ended up coming home very disappointed and a bag of 8 pigeons for a full days shooting. Admittedly the weather was atrocious on the morning but on the afternoon it turned into a beautiful day. I was set up in a field where we had seen a large number of pigeon. I shot my 8 early on but my gripe was what happened next. I spent the rest of the day (4-5 hours) staring into space. All the pigeon disappeared. However no representative came to check if I was Ok or check on my bag. I was left completely alone with no backup which I think is not good for a novice.

I am the type who does not carry a mobile phone but I was not told I needed one and my mate was visited by one of the employees and moved to a better spot without asking. When I complained the next day I was told they assumed I was getting a good bag and had heard a lot of shots coming from my direction. Funny the day before the boss told me that we are dealing with wild animals and never to take them for granted!

The day before I shot a bit better 15 and at 6pm the pigeons starting to really come in to my field. Low and behold one of the workers turns up and packs everything up. I was told later by the boss I should have told him wait but as a beginner I assumed that was the finishing time and why didn't the worker use his common sense?

I have cancelled my next trip with this company and I have been recommended a Company in Lincolnshire which I will be contacting.

The whole incident as a beginner has left me with a very bad taste in my mouth.

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic