FAC upgrade??

Walker570

I am but a complete novice on air rifles. Purchased a TX200 nine months ago and have been very pleased with it.

Where I mainly use it I get opportunities out at 50yrds and am reticent to take a shot with the 177 as I want a clean kill. It kills magpies and jackdaws cleanly out to 45 yrds but wacked a big old carrion crow today at about 50yrds and it flew about 100yrds before collapsing. I am certain I would not have a problem getting clearance for an FAC upgrade, would it be possible on the TX200 and would it be sensible?

Do you already have an air tank ?

There's an argument that once you've had an air rifle upgraded/modified to FAC levels you cannot then have it downgraded at a later date.

You might be better getting your FAC then buying a s/h FAC rated .22 or .25 even as the prices are reasonable as the market is smaller.

Personally Walker I wouldnt bother with FAC in .177 or unless it really floats your boat with FAC in springers. Some people like them but you cant go much above 900 fps with an airgun pellet without it destabilising, so in a .177 jogging along about at 780 fps already at sub 12 ft/lb there isn't much faster to go before you run into accuracy issues unless you lob heavier .177 pellets which kind of defeats the objective really.

To get the most out of FAC air you want to be running a .22 or maybe a .25 at 800-900fps to give you the flat trajectory you get in a .177 at sub 12 ft/lb with the wallop of the bigger pellet. Getting this out of springers (which in .22 equates to about 30 ft/lb of energy) is tough and can be tooth joltingly fun in the recoil department.

.22 FAC air running at about 30 ft/lb would give you that extra bit at say 50 yards and is more forgiving of slight accuracy errors as you are dumping a lot more energy into the target.