Just not able to hit a bird.

bob_cbr

Hello all,

I am new at this game and have only just bought a shotgun last month. Me and a friend of mine have permission for a patch of land that seems to be a very good flight path. The field is ploughed, but not seeded, the other fields around have plenty of food for the pigeons. So, they are fly over our field to get to the other fields. They do not slow down for our decoy at all.

Been three times now, hit 2 the first time, and none the 2nd/3rd time. We are talking about 150+ shots and I have claimed 2 birds, TBH I think they were easy/lucky shots. I would say that 85% of the shots were 30+ yrd, with the birds flying high and fast. I would prefer for them to slow down and come in to the decoy patch, but that is not happening.

Gun: Benelli supernova

Choke: Improved cylinder

Cart: Special Pigeon No. 6

Trying to give plenty of lead, but I just hit fresh air time after time. Been doing some clays to improve, but these fast moving pigeons are in a different league of difficulty.

Please any advice for the newbie.

Bob

Bob,

With out any of us being able to watch you shoot then the advice will be only what it is worth and that is free.

Get to a clay ground and pay for some coaching from a recommended coach. I would ask him if he also shoots pigeons then he should be able to tag some tips on with your lessons.

Clays only travel in one direction, however pigeons don’t!

BASC offer intro pigeon shooting courses so that might well be worth looking at.

TEH

Agreed, get a couple of lessons - it'll work out cheaper in the long run

Try to limit yourself to no more than 30-35 yards until you can get a fairly good kill rate. If need be, knock a few wooden stakes in at your max ranges, and be strict with yourself.

When you do clay shooting, try to shoot sporting layouts - some grounds will be absolutely fine with you concentrating on one or 2 traps, so that you can get used to fast crossing birds, and the lead required for them