How good is "good enough"?

danro

Hi all

I'm new to shotgunning and never shot at pigeon with one.

I'm currently practising on the clays and wondered at what stage you chaps would consider a clay shooter to be "good enough" to move onto live quarry.

I'm breaking the clays fine.... but there again, I know which way they are coming from and going to so scores will be a little misleading.

I've been airgun hunting for years so I'm a great believer in taking the most humane shot you can.. but shotgunners are going for moving targets so there is much more skill needed in shot placement in a very short space of time compared to airguns where fieldcraft is king and the shot a formality.

Your comments will be interesting.

Cheers

If you feel you have the mount , swing and eye coordinated with the gun then thats the time.

A reasonably different kettle of fish shooting woodpigeon, many clay shooters that I know of muff their averages with real pigeon than what they get on clays, but dont get frustrated if that happens just enjoy it keep cool and it will come together.

Good luck

Edited by deny essex

I have took some very good clay shooters pigeon shooting and the birds have made them look like novices :yes:

Go when you feel confident but expect to struggle for a start as long as you have the basics , good mount / gun fit etc then you will get better the more you go as you start to build sight pictures easier.

The main thing is to remember unlike a clay a pigeon will be speeding up lots of time, where as a clay is slowing.