What shotgun would suit my wife?

Jmh

Hi all

Wondered if anyone could give me any advice on which shotgun I should get my wife to try out.

I've been shooting clays for the past 10 years and now my wife has shown an interest and would like to try it.

She likes the look of side x sides, but she's very Petite 5"2" and not much over 8 stone.

Would a heavy gun or a light gun suit??

Obviously a heavy gun would have less recoil but I think she'd struggle with the wieght.

But a lighter gun would probably put her on her **** as she shot it.

Maybe a 20 gauge.?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Personally if its just for clays then an over and under would be best,

You could go 20 bore but you could also go lightweight 12 bore and use comp x 21g cartridges,

Well worth a look at first,

Let her try some comp x 21g through yours first

:shaun:

My good lady uses hull comp x 21g or fiocchi tt21's and suffers no ill effect.

My Mrs, who's 5'2" and quite petite, started off with a Hatsan youth 20g, light and cycled 24g carts without too much recoil. She had that a year or so and moved up to a Maxus 12G, 26" barrel shooting 24g carts. A year or two on from that and she now shoots a newer Maxus 12G, still 26" barrelled and with 28g carts.

We did buy her a Lincoln Xtra light O/U though and that is very, very, light and, truth be told, 28g carts in it are a bit much even for me but 24g s and lower are just fine.

Edited by TbirdX

With women balance and Gunfit are vital they are differently shaped to us blokes and often lack our up body strength.

A front heavy gun tired them very quickly, they also normally need a shorter stock with higher comb due to facial features like long necks and high check bones.

Light 21g cartridges will help with recoil but in my experience woman are often more resilient to recoil than given credit for by husbands (but never start with a heavy load) it's fatigue the puts them off.