Gun add ons ?.

samboy

Hi gang.

I've been shooting for over 41 years. I have never found the need for barrel or stock weights, adj stock , long beads etc.

The only things i do like are extended chokes . I just pick up a gun and if it feels right i buy it.  Anyone else think like this ?.

Nope .

Not me .

I've added weight. ,Removed weight , reduced length of pull, added rails . Put on red dots . Added moderators . Camo tape .resprayed stocks . Cheek risers . Adjustable combs ,  made my own stocks  .plenty  of stuff to make the gun fit or shoot or look how I want it too .

Edited by Ultrastu

must admit i was the same more or less..........i need to like the gun before i buy it...the only thing i do and have done is the stock length and i always shoot with a rubber bump stop on the rear of the trigger gaurd as it helps me with hand placement on my sxs's

My guns have been bought typically with 2 reasons;

First (and foremost) because I like them - and that may be for all sorts of reasons including 'quirky' design (I Have a Darne!)

Second - they either fit me (or can be altered with relative ease to fit me.

What have I 'added/changed' (other than repairs)? 

Well,

• I have removed two rubber 'recoil pads' and replaced with buffalo horn.  - I hate rubber pads which always seem to snag on my clothing unless leather covered.
  • I have had one 'wood' extension where about an additional inch was needed. 
  • I have removed an old ebonite extension and refinished (chequered butt) remaining stock to correct length. 
  • I have had the usual fitting (length, bend, cast, stock rear angle) 'tweaked'. 
  • I have never added (or removed) weight, multi chokes (except buying an extra tube for my only non fixed gun). 
  • I have had one fixed choke gun that was half and full opened to 1/4 and 1/2. 
  • I have had the triggers adjusted (several guns), and I have converted two manual safety guns to automatic (because that is what I'm used to).