Which cartridge for a semi-auto 12g

Hi chaps, I'm just starting out with shotguns, and need some advice on what size/weight/length cartridges to use in a Franchi raptor 712. Uses will be mainly clays, but also for pidgeons too.

It's all very confusing to a newbie on which to get, and I couldn't find a definitive guide using the search function, so i'm asking here if it's the correct forum :blush:

Thanks fellas, what effect would smaller cartridges have, as the guys I've been out with use 24g i think?

The Franchi Raptor has something that you can adjust for light or heavy loads, would you say that a 28g cartridge is classed as a "light load" ?

I use a Benelli, different sytem I think but that will cycle 24g and even 21g cartridges without any problems. If your gun is adjustable, try a box of 24g, they will certainly be lighter on your shoulder (but less lead in the air, of course). My local clay ground owner can hit anything on his ground with 21g, so try and see what you like. Good luck. :good:

Hi mate i have a franchi raptor aswell. I use 30g / shotsize 6 gamebore clear pigeons for clays and vermin shooting, i did put a few boxes of eley olympic 28 gram 7.5s through it and they were good aswell. Just keep the action nice and clean with light smearing of gun oil, i've not had a jam yet! So easy to strip down and looks the mutts nuts!

Paul.

I used the new black cased clear pigeon 32g 6 shot cartridges for the first time this week and was very impressed. They really hit very hard. Very few runners, mostly just folded up completely in mid air. I was amazed that at 25-30 yards the birds were absolutely pole axed by a well placed pattern, not something I'd experienced with many cartridges other than the pure gold versions, which are real killers.

Great value and highly recommended.