la bala

Working with stainless steel.

titainium or colbart tipped drills...........lots of coolant fluid...............much depends on the grade of stainless

I always use decent quality drills and lots of lubricant, at slow speed and applying enough pressure on the drill so that it does not skid on the stainless.

If I can drill the piece using the lathe, I get better results.

I use HSS taps and tap lubricant, backing off the tap every 1/4 turn.

The biggest problem that I have found, however is the variable quality of stainless steel. Sometimes it can be a right cow to work

So many grades. I have found on some I could drill no problem others was like trying to drill glass. Have not had to thread any but assume the same. Heh! but I'm no expert only what I have experienced.  As with all drilling tapping...plenty of fluid.

Comments taken on board, thanks lads.

20 minutes ago, ditchman said:

titainium or colbart tipped drills...........lots of coolant fluid...............much depends on the grade of stainless

Is that the brass coloured ones that are made in china :lol:

I once went to a cash carry with the pub landlord to get beer there where some cheap and i mean cheap drills there he put a packet in with his order when we got back to the pub he gave me the drills for helping him any way i took them home couple days later was drill 316 stainless i broke the only drill i had so i thought would try them drills bloody hell the went through like butter stillgot a couple thats after over 25 years

11 minutes ago, TIGHTCHOKE said:

La Bala, what size holes and through what thickness and grade of Stainless steel?

thats the trick.........................what grade..?

1 hour ago, snow white said: