Legalish advice

sandspider

Hi all

Just wondering if anyone on here is a lawyer or related occupation? I'd appreciate a quick look at an email I've written if so!

(Basically, a lorry delivering to my neighbours lost control on our driveway and crashed into a tree - eventually, the lorry was pulled out, and they all legged it without looking at damage, repairs needed etc. The drive is damaged, and I've written them an email asking them to come and repair it (with photos of damage and crashed lorry) - but I'm not totally sure of the legal ground I'm trying to stand on, though they're obviously liable!)

Thanks.

I'm not a lawyer, but see this sort of thing quite often, being sent to repair the damage caused.

Virtually all that I attend are claims through the insurance. The insurance pays for your repairs and claims off the third party insurance or takes them to court for recompense. So basically peace of mind for yourself.

If it was a registered company doing the delivery, and then causing the damage to your property, that's the direction I'd recommend.

HTH

Not a lawyer but involved in legal matters as part of the day job. Best way to approach this is to set out the detail as a Letter Before Action marking it clearly at the top that this is what it is. Address it to the Company and it’s Directors. You can also look up who they are at Companies House online. You can send copies to each Director if you are so inclined.

Include all the facts together with evidence of the damage, photos, particularly of the lorry and it’s reg plate. Add a summary of the damage and cost of repairs with quotes if you have them. If not go for a high repair figure and make it clear you reserve the right to amend your claim for damage in the light of any additional quotes or further damage discovered.